New Band Plan for Region 2

1A new Band Plan for Region 2 was approved in October 14, 2016 during the XIX IARU Region 2 General Assembly in Viña del Mar, Chile and is now published on the IARU Region 2 website in English and Spanish versions.

The HF/VHF Committees were composed by 15 delegates to discuss 6 documents and annexes covering several proposals sent by ARRL, LABRE, RAC and informative documents from IARU Region 1 and the IARU Satellite Advisory Committee.

Brian Mileshosky, N5ZGT (ARRL) was the Chairman and Flávio Archangelo, PY2ZX (LABRE) was the Secretary of the HF/VHF Committees.

The changes aimed the harmonization with Regions 1 and 3, recognizance of some band occupations in Region 2 and the contextualization of the satellite segments to encourage the use of new technologies in space communications.

The main modifications in resume are:

- Introduction of the 60 m with sub-bands, footnotes and definitions harmonized with Region 1;
 — The inclusion of ACDS in 2200 m, restriction of bandwidth in 630 m, harmonization of the 160 m and 80 m, especially on digital sub-bands;
 — Recognitions of the calling frequency 144.3 MHz in 2 m and AM practice in 15 m;
 — Editorial changes in the footnotes related to ACDS, additional footnotes related to AM and editorial changes in some of the footnotes, modes and bandwidths of satellites sub-bands.

The Band Plan does not have an enforcement power per se but serves as a guide to the Member Societies. According the IARU Region 2 Band Plan “it is suggested that Member Societies, in coordination with the authorities, incorporate it [the Band Plan] in their regulations and promote widely with their amateur radio communities”.

Band Plan in Spanish

Band Plan in English

In the Main Picture:

Members of the HF/VHF Committees. Standing, from left to right: Cesar Brousek OA4CLU, Carlos Rodriguez CX7CO, Shizuo Endo JE1MUI, Don Beattie G3BJ, Christian Buenger DL6KAC, Ronald Tsoi-a-Fatt 9Y4RX, Ole Garpestad LA2RR, Jonathan Siverling WB3ERA, Gopal Mandhavan VU2GMN. Seated, from left to right: Paulo Hernandes PT2NP, Flavio Archangelo PY2ZX, Brian Mileshosky N5ZGT, Glenn MacDonell VE3XRA. Not in the photo: Rick Roderick K5UR and Orlando Perez PT2OP.


Brian Mileshosky, N5ZGT and Flavio Archangelo, PY2ZX, Chairman and Secretary of the HF/VHF Committees.


HF/VHF Committees at work in the XIX IARU Region 2 General Assembly.

Tambien disponible en Español (Spanish).

Print This Post

Materials on this website may be subject to copyright.